Celebrating Visionary Leaders

The Helen G. Drinan Visionary Leader Award

Established April 16, 2020, The Simmons Leadership Conference

The Simmons University Institute for Inclusive Leadership will honor Simmons University’s eighth president for 12 years of distinguished service with the inauguration of the Helen G. Drinan Visionary Leader Award.

“Visionary leaders see around corners; they make manifest a reality that today does not exist. Helen G. Drinan’s legacy of leadership is one of commitment, values and action. It is a legacy Simmons University is proud to carry on in her name and to amplify so that other visionary women leaders are seen and honored.”

Susan Brady
CEO, Simmons University Institute for Inclusive Leadership

Who is eligible for the Helen G. Drinan award?

A women leader who:

  • Exemplifies their values in their actions and leadership style.
  • Demonstrates a commitment to an organization, compassion to its members, and courage to make challenging business decisions.
  • Ensures the long-term stability of an organization with vision and action.
  • Open and transparent about challenges in an effort to show others that they are not alone.
  • Demonstrates curiosity and a “work is never done” attitude necessary for organizations to stay ahead of the curve (innovation, anticipation).
  • Prioritizes financial stability and fiscal responsibility.
word cloud containing the words: forward thinking, courageous, inspirational, promotes diversity, fiscally responsible, and value based

When will it be awarded?

  • The award will be presented each year at the annual Simmons Leadership Conference in Boston, MA.
  • The first Helen G. Drinan Visionary Leader Award will be presented at the Spring 2021 Simmons Leadership Conference.

What is the nomination process?

  • The nomination process and administration of the award will be managed by staff of the Simmons University Institute for Inclusive Leadership.
  • An award committee will be responsible for selection of the awardee, based on established award criteria.
  • Nomination process for the first award to begin September 2020 with nomination deadline November 1, 2020; the Award Committee to select and announce recipient by January 1, 2021.